HomeResourcesFAQs

FAQs

QUESTION:

Is it suitable for Muslims to consume ice cream from the Haagen Dazs outlet in Lanterns Mall?

ANSWER:

Presently the described outlet does not meet Halaal Standards and so the BHA has not certified it.

However, according to our present research, Haagen Dazs icecream sold in cartons is permissible with the exception of the following flavours:

* Bailey's Irish Cream
* Rum Raisin
* Tiramisu
* Belgian Dark Chocolate
* Pineapple Coconut
* Rocky Road

Also any other product that contains marshmallows.

QUESTION:

Can Muslims consume products which contain L-Cysteine?

ANSWER:

L-Cysteine is an ingredient which is found in some baking products. Its alternative names are :

cys, beta mercaptoalanine, L-cysteine monohydrate.

L-Cysteine which is from synthetic products or chicken feathers will be suitable for Muslims.

L-Cysteine which is from human hair will not be permissible for Muslims to use.

QUESTION:

Has the BHA certified Apsara Restaurant?

ANSWER:

Presently the BHA has not discussed any Halaal related matter with Apsara Restaurant.

QUESTION:

Can we consume Pizza from Chefette outlets?

ANSWER:

BHA has not certified any products from any Chefettes outlets.

QUESTION:

Can we consume fries (chips) from fast food outlets that serves Haram foods.

ANSWER:

It is the responsibility of every Muslim to avoid all such food that are Haram or doubtful. As a matter of caution, Muslims should stay away from restaurants that serve both Halaal and Haram foods as there is no guarantee that cross-contamination will not take place.

QUESTION:

Can we eat croissants from BICO?

ANSWER:

The ingredients listed for the croissants can come from both animal or plant origins and it is therefore difficult to make a judgement. The management at BICO has informed us that they will supply the listing for all their products as soon as they receive this info from their suppliers.  In the meantime, it is advisable not to consume these croissants.

QUESTION:

Are Frito Lay Products(Doritos etc.) suitable for Muslim consumption.

ANSWER:

Frito Lay Cheese products containing a kosher symbol would be considered Halaal to consume because they will not contain any animal enzymes or animal flavours.

Non-cheese Frito Lay products which are not kosher certified need to be investigated, and it would be safer to stick with the kosher certified products since they also will not have any animal enzymes.

 

Last Updated on Tuesday, 12 June 2012 09:55

 

Hijri Date

Tuesday, 12 December 2017  
24. Rabiul Awwal 1439

Halaal Gazette

Halaal Gazette Issue 1Assalamu Alykum & welcome to the first issue of the Halaal Gazette, a publication of the Barbados Halaal Authority (BHA).

Read more...

e-Bulletin

Subscribe to BHA mailing list to recieve a periodical in your email keeping you abreast of the Halaal world. 

Read more...

News Flash!

Keeps you updated on the Halaal issues.

Read more...

Free business joomla templates